CAMBRIDGE CONTRACT BRIDGE CLUB

Minutes of Annual General Meeting held at the Clubrooms

at 7.15pm Thursday 30 November 2017

Present:

Vicki Jacobsen (President), Anne Blewden (Vice-President), Kevin Whyte (Treasurer), Jenny Oxley (Secretary), Clare Coles (Club Captain), Michael Neels, Calum Maclean, Sue Peake, Liz Clayton (Committee Members).

Pam Halls, Marlene Morey, Harry Shields, Beth Kingsley, Doug Bayley, Janet Bayley, Lesley Roberts, Warwick Roberts, Sheila Wardlaw, Doug Wardlaw, Dayelle Cole, Saty Satyanand, Helen Hicks, Alan Pencavel, Philippa Baker, Melanie Trevethick, Linda Buckley, Ainslee Martin, Viv Williams, Ron Ardern, Loraine Ardern, Alyson Clay, Barbara Smythe, Barb Wilson, Julie Rope, Ayako Imahashi, Margaret Fitzgerald, Inge Marston, David Taylor, Bob McQueen, Rae Willoughby, Marie Wilson, Dayelle Cole, Math Verhaugh, Dot Sheridan, Bill Robinson, Deb Robinson, Diane Emms, David Sargeant, Eunice Eccles, David Buckley (members).

In attendance:

Sheila Pencavel, Dave Morey, Mike Oxley, Mark Emms, Grant Middlemiss, Philip Coles, Rosemary Whyte, Michael Cole and Diana Taylor.

APOLOGIES

Resolved:

That the apologies from Peter Hobman, Sue McKenzie, Christine Meads, Kim Grounds, George Sherrell, Diane Brown, Ailsa Henderson, Alison Richardson, Barbara Read, Di Reed, Marie Davis, Gail Ebbett, Phyl Gatfield, Jan Spaans, John Little, Sue Lake, Shirley Dodd, Sue Wrigley, Margreet Chardon, Kate McFadyen, Jane Stearns, Don Wilson, Margaret Oliver, Daphne Charman, Ruth van Praagh, Suzie Hobman, Helen Wallwork, Pam Leeming, Iris Thomas, Roger Coles, Andy Gillies, Joan McHarg, James Riley, Pat Sanders, Irenee Stewart, Judy Todd, Marie Bradley, Val Sanderson, Harry Woodall, Dorrie Woodall and Karen Young are accepted.

Bill Robinson / Ayako Imahashi

The President welcomed members to the meeting.

Past members were remembered.

Inge Marston was presented with the Club Service Award for her exceedingly good and consistent service to the Club, organising and running Monday day sessions for many years.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolved: That the minutes of the meeting held 29 November 2016 are confirmed.

Diane Emms / Calum MacLean

Matters arising: Nil

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Vicki Jacobsen read her report to the meeting

Resolved: That the President's report is received.

Vicki Jacobsen / Harry Shields

TREASURER'S REPORT

Kevin Whyte presented his report. Malcolm Hill, as Auditor, had carried out a review of the accounts and was satisfied that financial statements which have been prepared using the historical cost method to give a true and fair view.

Resolved: That the financial report of 2017 is received.

Kevin Whyte / Calum MacLean

The Treasurer called for questions from the floor.

- Karen Payne asked if there was anything planned for the money in the term deposit. Kevin replied that it was
 committed to capital purposes, not for maintenance purposes, but that there was nothing firmly planned at this
 stage.
- Bill Robinson asked for the Pianola cost to be itemised. Kevin replied that it was included in computer charges.

Subscriptions

Resolved:That the table money be increased from \$3 to \$4 in 2018 with a ten-session concession card being
priced at \$35.Passed

ELECTION OF AUDITOR

Resolved: That Malcolm Hill is appointed Honorary Auditor of the Cambridge Contract Bridge Club (Inc) for 2018. *Kevin Whyte / Alan Pencavel*

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

The following nominations had been received:

President:	Vicki Jacobsen
Vice-President:	Anne Blewden
Secretary:	Jenny Oxley
Treasurer:	Kevin Whyte
Committee members:	Liz Clayton, Peter Hobman, Calum MacLean, Sue Peake, Sue McKenzie and Allison Vince
Ex-officio Committee Members:	
Club Captain:	Clare Coles
Committee Member:	Lesley Roberts, Helen Wallwork

The President asked for nominations from the floor. There were no further nominations.

Resolved: That the nominations be closed and committee elected en bloc.

Vicki Jacobsen/ Bill Robinson

GENERAL BUSINESS

- Melanie Trevethick gave a huge thank you to all the members who had given up their time to card turn for her and to Vicki Jacobsen for organising the roster. She commended the Club for being very special.
- Marie Wilson thanked Vicki Jacobsen for her excellent job as President.
- The President presented Michael Neels with a gift in recognition of his 17 years' service on the committee.
- Anne Blewden complimented Vicki Jacobsen on her many qualities and presented her with flowers as a huge thanks for her many hours given to the Club and outstanding job as President.
- Clare Coles was also presented with flowers as thanks for her wonderful job as Club Captain.

The meeting closed at 7.50pm